Term papers, being sick, and new shoes!

This was a long week.  It started out very well, with the 1000m PR on Monday.  But then, I started to get sick that afternoon.  Then I realized that I had a paper due on Thursday for microbiology (which I thought wasn’t due for another week).  Training time had suddenly turned into paper time, and I spent every free moment for the next few days slogging through lab tests and results to identify my “unknown bacterium.”  The paper was turned in on Thursday.  Now, all that’s left is the final exam and I’ll have this monkey off my back.  Sickness peaked Wednesday, and I’m slowly getting better, but not sleeping much during the paper writing frenzy didn’t help too much.

Friday, my mood lifted when I got home and discovered that my new KEEN shoes had arrived.  I got a pair of Ormund Slide sandals and Payette river shoes (which, amazingly enough, may fit in my C-1).  I’ll have to try them out next week, when I paddle again.  And they’ll have to come with me next weekend, as I head to the frozen north (Chilliwack, BC) for the first race of the season.  Good thing I’ve been training so well!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

