Cedar River Races

 

Tom Wier- Sprint Run 1

Tom Wier- Sprint Run 1

The Cedar is always one of my favorite spring races. The course is fun, if easy, and it’s a great warm up for harder races later on. I’ve been focused on this race as I train over the last couple of weeks, looking for a good performance to offset troubles I had at the first race of the year.

Two weeks ago, I went to Canada to race at the annual Rich Wiess Memorial Cup on the Chilliwack River. The river was low, so the downriver course was technical. I was out of shape from my lack of training over the last two months, and tired quickly in practice. By the time I raced on Saturday morning, I was tired and had no power. Rich Roehner and Mike Baker beat me in the sprint, both runs. I think that’s a first, and while they are getting better, it’s still a bit disappointing. Then I flipped in the classic, and narrowly beat Jennie Goldberg. I was not happy with how I paddled.

I usually measure my performance at Northwest Cup Races against Jennie and Rich/Mike, because they are consistent paddlers and they come to all the races. At the Chilliwack, they were all closer to me than they have ever been, and I wanted to paddle well enough to be ahead at the end of the day at the Cedar.

Saturday morning, at the downriver sprint, I was the last boat to go. There’s a long flatwater stretch before the rapid starts, so I put in a hard high stroke rate burst. My split at the lip of the rapid was about 4-5 seconds ahead of other boats on both runs. My lines were good. I stayed forward pretty well. And I finished first, in 68+ seconds per run, just over 9% ahead of the closest boat.

Later in the afternoon we held the classic race on a long course (35ish minutes). I started one minute behind Rich and Mike and two minutes behind Boo Turner, and slowly caught up to them. I passed the C-2 about 16-17 minutes into the race, right as the pain started. The last ten minutes were tough. It’s easy to forget how much racing can hurt. But I was catching Boo, which was key to helping me continue to paddle hard. I passed her in the last minute of the course, finishing in 34:18, just over two minutes ahead of the nearest boat.

The rest of the weekend was fun; I had a good time organizing the slalom race and racing. It was great to see a lot of new slalom racers out at the gates this year, and we were happy to have KEEN come out, and to have the support of Clif Bar. They gave us some great prizes and goodies that added nicely to the helmet bags we gave away.

Sprint Results

Name

Class

Run 1

Run 2

Total

Percent in Race

Tom Wier

C-1

68.77

68.94

137.71

100%

Boo Turner

K-1W

75.93

75.30

151.23

109.82%

Roehner/Baker

C-2

76.44

75.21

151.65

110.12%

Jennie Goldberg

K-1W

78.50

77.98

156.48

113.63%

Christian Knight

K1 M Rec

81.64

82.03

163.67

118.85%

Darren Albright

K1M Rec

81.39

82.64

164.03

119.20%

Classic Results

Name

Class

Time

Percent in Race

Tom Wier

C-1

34:19.07

100%

Jennie Goldberg

K-1W

36:20.27

105.89%

Boo Turner

K-1W

36:22.79

106.01%

Roehner/Baker

C-2

36:29.61

106.34%

Bert Hinkley

K-1M

36:38.70

106.78%

Victor Kress

K-1 M Slalom

41:43.77

121.60%

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

