5:03

Yesterday, I felt heavy and slow in the boat.  I spent most of the weekend eating, and didn’t sleep enough on Sunday night.  I didn’t even do my afternoon workout- I felt like I was falling asleep, and couldn’t motivate.

 So, this morning, when I weighed in, I was a couple of pounds heavy, but felt ok.  My pulse was 46, which is on the low end of normal for me.  I got out on the lake to do 6 1K pieces, and felt strong in the warm up.  I knew I was going fast in the first piece as I passed each marker, and was able to maintain almost 80 strokes per minute.  Final time: 5:03, 7 seconds faster than my previous best.  I followed it with 5 more, all under 5:20.  My average pace was 5:14, the fastest I’ve ever been. 

 I’ve got 10 days before I leave for nationals.  I set a goal of sub 5:00 for 1K months ago…and it seems to be within reach.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

