SEVEN!

Thursdaymorning was quiet.  None of us were walking very much as we got up and went through our pre-race routines.  Each of us has a particular pattern we follow before big races, in an effort to bring ourselves to a mental peak without being so nervous that we make mistakes.  Rich gets up and stretches, as usual, but eats only a light breakfast.  Mike eats lightly, and will occasionally play his mandolin.  Ed stretches and goes over his lines again and again, sometimes in his head, and sometimes verbally. 

I like to eat pancakes before I race.  They sit about right, especially if I can eat 3+ hours before the race.  I have no trouble with focus, and often have to do something to take my mind off of the race.  Thursday morning I read.  The Bible, Oswald Chambers’ My Upmost for His Highest, and a mystery that I picked up on the way out of town at the begining of the trip. 

Wednesday evening, I found out that John Pinyerd wasn’t racing C-1.  He had planned on racing C-1 and C-2, but had hurt his shoulder a few weeks ago, and felt it was only strong enough to paddle one class.  He chose C-2.  Much of me mental race plan was built around starting directly behind John, and I had to adjust quickly.  By Thursday morning, I had my head in the right place again, and was ready to go hard.

We did the thirty minute drive to Cottonwood rapid, Ed and I did a practice run, and then the waiting was on.  An hour plus of mandolin, reading, and stretching followed.  The race was pushed back half an hour.  Finally, I got in the boat to warm up.  Twenty minutes later, Rich and Mike started right in front of me, charging out of the start eddy fast.  One minute later, I followed.  Across the pool, at 85+ strokes per minute, through the rapid in a blur, and then across the finishing straight.  The last 100 yards hurt.  My arms burned.  I couldn’t pull hard.  But, I finished in 1:37 and won the first run in the C-1 class.  Second run was a near repeat, and I ended the day 26 seconds and 15% ahead of Ed Gordon, my nearest competitor.

We were all early to bed, and up at 6:00 am  (or earlier, for those of us that don’t sleep too soundly before races) for the classic races, the second half of the National Championships.  Ed and I did a practice run.  I flipped (and rolled).  It was a great confidence boost just before the race.  I started again just behind Rich and Mike, who were amped to maintain their slim lead after the sprint. 

Usually I can catch Mike and Rich in a 20 minute race, but not today.  I was tired off the start, and paddled decently, but not too powerfully.  Then, just before the final rapid, a raft pushed me into an eddy.  I got around it, not losing too much time, and suddenly saw two racers ahead of me.  I was catching them fast, but not fast enough.  They didn’t pull over, and at the crux of the rapid I had to stop paddling because there was no room to go around.  I sped by in the last 50 yards, and finished.  I won.  By two minutes.  I knew I had just won my seventh national title, and third in a row, but I wasn’t happy.  I felt I should have been 30 seconds faster.  Is it unusual to meet one of your major goals and not be excited?  I love to train, to race, and to win, but I often feel I could (and should) do better.  In the end, winning a championship may not bring me peace. 

Later that day, as I saw Mike and Rich celebrating their first national C-2 title together, I was reminded of how I should feel, and relaxed.  It does feel good to win, but what’s better is sharing it with the people around you.  I wish Wendy were here, but we’ll have to celebrate when I get home on Tuesday.  For now, I’m happy to be here in Salida with Rich, Mike, and Ed, and to have another two days of paddling and racing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

